Day 235 – Coloring One Dream at a Time


Coloring One Dream at a Time

Day 235

To Dream in Color by Richard McLin

 Do you dream in color? Does the pain and sorrow of your day follow you into night, or is that the only time you can escape? Where you close your eyes and see oceans, dolphins, and other beauties, other miracles.

Do you dream in color? Do you recall everything you did during the day, just to replay it in your head? Maybe hoping to get things right this time around. When you close your eyes do you see yourself doing all the chores, all the errands you forgot to accomplish? Perhaps you see yourself as an adventurer or a pirate. Something grander, more romantic than yourself.

Do you dream in color? Do you see your life and watch all the missed opportunities? When you close your eyes do you see the one who got away, or the job you wanted but another person received. Perhaps you see yourself as a king, or queen, a person with the power to control lives.

I dream in color. I see the events of the day, and of the night. I see myself doing all the things that I forgot to do. When I close my eyes I see myself just as I am, for that is the most exciting, and I see myself with my lover, for that is the most romantic dream of all.

•••••••

I was asking my family, the other day, if each of them dreams in black and white or color.  I was quite surprised to find that not one of them dreams in color on a regular basis.  Each of my dreams is composed with a lot of color, sometimes rich and vivid and dripping with color and at other times it looks like the color I experience in my everyday day – but never black and white.  Last night’s dream had me walking out to the parking lot after work and finding that my car was gone.  I looked everywhere and saw a burgundy van, a tan Honda and a red convertible, but nothing but blank space where my car was supposed to be!  And in my dream, the police officer told me that it was my problem to look for the car because obviously I was not watching it closely enough.  My most frequent dreams involve the seashore and sea shells – the sea varies in color from a deep turquoise to bluish wind tossed waves that crash onto a brown or tan sandy shore.  The seashells always vary in color from peach to pink to lavender to white and they always have an iridescent interior and sometimes I am carrying a multicolored umbrella.

I think that it surprises me the most that my daughter, the artistic one, does not dream in color – she gave me a strange look when I told her that I do.  My son, the logical one, on the other hand sporadically dreams in color.  Go figure.

And now onto  some official business — I have been tagged by none other than Kathryn (the Great) Sparks! I haven’t responded to a tag in a long while – I think the last one was 2 years ago – there just aren’t a lot of good quality tags out and about in the wilds of Facebook.  And now, to appease your curiosity, and mine:

1. Describe yourself in seven words.

I decided to have a bit of fun with this and I am going to let the letters of my first name do the work for me:

C = Creative

Y = Youthful (without actually being young and nubile any longer!)

N = Noisy

T = Thoughtful

H = Happy (for the most part)

I =   Itchy

A = Absentminded (it’s true)

2. What keeps you up at night?

The next photo that needs editing;  the next page that simply must be turned; Angry Birds; House Hunters International;my poor aching back; sometimes my very own snoring.

3. Whom would you like to be?

I would like to stay just who I am – I don’t believe that God makes any mistakes!

4. What are you wearing now?

A pink long-sleeved tee and ivory Sherpa lined zip-up hoodie,  my favorite blue jeans that hang just a bit too much and my softest white socks.

5. What scares you?

Spiders.  Spiders on a boat over water so deep that it looks black.  Spiders in really high places.  Spiders that follow me in a dark parking lot. Spiders that won’t let me pay my bills.  Spiders that keep me from my loved ones.  Spiders that will take me too soon from my children.  Spiders that cause colon cancer.

6. What are the best and worst things about blogging?

Best:  The opportunity to meet new people, have meetings of the mind and maybe to find a kindred spirit or two.

Worst:  The total anonymity that it affords a person who wants to do another ill and the lack of actual personal contact that can make it so impersonal at times.

7. What was the last website you looked at?

I just happened to be over at YouTube watching Monty Python’s Ministry of Silly Walks in order to post a link to a group I was shanghaied into on Facebook that goes by the improbable name Eric’s Minions aka The Ericinians.

8. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I need to pray more.

9. Slankets – yes or no?

Well, I am off to Google this one because I have no idea what a Slanket is….. Okay, it is like a Snuggie, one of which I was given last Christmas and promptly handed it over to my daughter – she wears it backward and it drags along the floor behind her while the cats chase it.  So I am going to give this one a NO.

10. Tell us something about the person who tagged you.

What can I say about Kathryn?  I could give you the cold hard facts as she has told them to us, but I prefer to stick with my impressions.  Kathryn is warm, witty, smart, caring, empathetic, artistic, creative and colorful.  I think Kathryn MUST dream in color!

Whom are you going to tag to join the quiz?

I am going out on a limb here and tagging only four fabu bloggers, all of them quite different and all of whom I admire:

Life by the Creek

Happiness to be Had

Rama Ink.

365 + K. Ballou

21 thoughts on “Day 235 – Coloring One Dream at a Time

  1. Today i enjoyed more than ever Your post, the Text by Richard Mclin, Your words, the quiz, and the photo, which is truly beautiful.
    I Also dream in color, and they are always very vivid; can’t remember any time where i have dreamt iin b&w.
    🙂

    • The colorful dreams must be part of our artistic nature, I think, though I can not figure out why my girl doesn’t dream like us. Maybe as she expands her artistic talents….
      Thank you again, Pablo, for your sincerity and every kind word you give to me.

  2. I didn’t know that it’s unusual to dream in colour… that’s what my life is – full of colour – so it seems odd to dream in B&W? I guess you can tell that I always dream in colour. 😉

    You tagged me! 😀 I promise I’ll get to it. 🙂

    And I’m totally going to watch that video. I’m a fan. 😉

  3. Gorgeous shot! I always look to your photos for color or shininess. This would be a beautiful print on a large scale; it makes me think summer.

    I dream in color, as well. I’ve never thought to ask anyone else that question. I suppose I assumed everyone dreamed in color.

    I will get to the tag sometime this weekend, hopefully when I can get to a computer instead of using my phone.

    • I just took a wander to your cooking spree and I can not wait until I have some time to wander through your offerings! Tonight I have so much to do before I can even sleep – Now I have something to anticipate! ♥

  4. This post is just exactly why I tagged you, Darling. Insightful, hilarious, touching, and full of the very spiders that terrorize your waking hours (not one to back down from a monster, are you, my dear? You and ChgoJohn had better form your own arachnophobes’ defense battalion). And of course, colorful as all get out. I, too, find it amazing that anyone would dream in B&W.

    PS–I agree that God doesn’t make mistakes, but I like to think I’m living proof that God has a weird and wacky sense of humor! Shall we go out for a Silly Walk?

  5. Pingback: Project 52 – Week 2 « Life by the Creek

    • Thanks, Robin. I am sincerely happy that I chose WordPress as my blogging platform for my 365. I have met the kindest, most talented people and visiting each of you has helped me to hone my skills so much.

  6. I really don’t think I’ve ever thought about colour or black and white after a dream. Now you’ve got me wondering. I’ll let you know next time I have one what colour it is.
    Maybe I’ll post it, thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  7. How gorgeous!! Your photograph made me go all fluttery on the inside.
    I want to slide down these colours or run my fingers over them so that they may bleed upon my skin.

    I dream in colours
    of an ordinary life
    but from whence
    these vibrant overtones?
    Maybe it is the trick
    of the kaleidoscope
    from whose topsy turvy
    innards
    they seem to be viewed,
    or, maybe,
    it is the brilliant wash
    of my reverie.

    Oof..I love your photographs Ms. Cynthia! And the way you offer yourself, with your heart in your hands, through your words. Beautiful, happy, heart rending..you are lovely in your honesty.

    Oh, and thank you for tagging me! And for your kind words. 🙂

    Loved your answer to number 3.

Leave a comment