Day 299 – Yellow Fellow


Yellow Fellow

Day 299

The Dandelion by Vachel Lindsay

O dandelion, rich and haughty,
King of village flowers!
Each day is coronation time,
You have no humble hours.
I like to see you bring a troop
To beat the blue-grass spears,
To scorn the lawn-mower that would be
Like fate’s triumphant shears,
Your yellow heads are cut away,
It seems your reign is o’er.
By noon you raise a sea of stars
More golden than before.
•••
I am finally getting around to posting the photos I have taken for the past ten days, and to be honest, I have been dreading it!  I have several books I am reading at the moment and they are calling to me even now.  And so I will be posting the next 8 or 9 photos with just a poem so I can get back on track.  sigh….  So  many books and so little time!
12 thoughts on “Day 299 – Yellow Fellow

    • And now that I have had such a reading marathon, I have had a hard time getting myself to read the next three books I have started! Actually, with as sick as I have been, all I have been doing is sleeping – the books can wait!

  1. Dandelions are weeds, they spread all over my garden, they make my skin itch because I’m allergic to them but I still can’t resist photographing them … they’re intricately beautiful. 🙂

    • They are! Even the seeds are lovely! It is only when they get to that awful long stalky stage that I can’t stand them. Until then, it feels like a murder almost, when my husband puts the weed killer on them!

  2. Yep, a classic example of just what I was saying about weeds/wildflowers. Dandelions, after all, not only provide salad greens and wine ingredients for those who will use them, but wish-making silk parachutes for children of every age. And in between all of those gifts, the beauty of the plant from sprout to seed-blow.

Leave a Reply

