Day 298 – The Robert E. Lee


The Robert E. Lee

Day 298

Cool Cool Water

Cool cool water where I rest my head
You keep me running to a single bed
Yellow moon rising on the riverboat wild
You keep me running like a child

Yellow moon rising on the riverboat wild
You keep me running like a child

Bobby don’t know
He’s got a funny way of seeing situations
Call him on the phone
And ain’t it funny but he never seems to come home

Bobby don’t know
He’s got a funny way of seeing situations
Call him on the phone
Ain’t it strange that he never seems to go home

•••

This is the Robert E. Lee and it resides in Lowell, MI.  I am not sure if it actually leaves its moorings any longer, but when I was a girl it would travel up and down the Grand River if the water levels weren’t too low.  Each year a grand production is staged on the boat and it is a very popular event.  My aunt, Bonnie, danced and sang in quite a few of the productions when she was younger.  Looking at the boat today as it sat floating near the seawall, I wondered about its history of which I know little but can imagine a lot.  Whose feet have walked this boat and what waterways did it traverse?  Did gamblers sit, stone-faced over a terrible hand of cards while ladies in colorful silk sashayed on the promenade?  I wonder if this boat saw action in the Civil War, ferrying supplies back and forth?  And I wonder how this riverboat ended up in a small town in Michigan?  I suppose I have some digging to do, don’t I?

