Day 293 – Talking in a Darkened Lot


Talking in a Darkened Lot

Day 293

Conversation Galante by T. S. Eliot

I observe: “Our sentimental friend the moon!
Or possibly (fantastic, I confess)
It may be Prester John’s balloon
Or an old battered lantern hung aloft
To light poor travelers to their distress.”
She then: “How you digress!”

And I then: “Someone frames upon the keys
That exquisite nocturne, with which we explain
The night and moonshine; music which we seize
To body forth our own vacuity.”
She then: “Does this refer to me?”
“Oh no, it is I who am inane.”

“You, madam, are the eternal humorist,
The eternal enemy of the absolute,
Giving our vagrant moods the slightest twist!
With your air indifferent and imperious
At a stroke our mad poetics to confute—”
And—“Are we then so serious?”

•••
I took a drive tonight to find a photo.  In the skies overhead, lightning flashed sporadically and I considered abandoning my quest, however the warm air and the wind blowing into the car as I drove down dark roads convinced  me to continue.  I ended up in Shipshewana, Indiana once again – it seems to be my most frequent night-time destination – and walked around with camera and tripod.  I found a window reflecting hundreds of lights, a clay pot with a long shadow and this, the red signal light on an Amish buggy parked on a side street.
As I walked back to my car, a woman was leaving the back entrance of the Blue Gate and we greeted each other.  She thought I was with another local photographer and was quite surprised to find that I was just taking a photo for today.  Well, I don’t seem to know a stranger, so I stood in the warm air and had a lovely conversation with this woman, whose name I never learned, finding that I am “just like her cousin,” that her daughter goes against the normal flow by staying single and having a career, that her sons are extremely easy-going and that her co-worker grew up in the same geographical area I grew up in, among other things.  She and I have mutual acquaintances and my husband’s family “has hung” with members of her family.  It has been a long time since I have just stood in the warm evening air, chatting with a stranger for the sheer pleasure of the conversation.  I need to do it more often.
12 thoughts on “Day 293 – Talking in a Darkened Lot

  1. I would have never have guessed what that red light was. How interesting.

    There’s nothing like a warm evening to make us stop and talk. I hope we’ve seen the end of cold evenings for a while.

    • I wandered up and down the quiet streets until I walked up to this buggy. There was a light to my front right that was shining just perfectly so this lined up just right. It really was a Mary Poppins kind of night.

    • Thank you, Pablo! That flare “sold” me on this shot! I only took a few photos that night, because when I got this one, I stopped. And a good thing I did, or I never would have had the lovely conversation!

  2. Big fan of the flare also…and I love the post here too… one of my favourite things about the street style photos I’ve been doing for a client is that I get to strike up conversations with complete strangers, it makes all the photos a little more personal.

Leave a Reply

