Day 286 – And Don’t let the Door Hit You on Your Way Out


And Don't let the Door Hit You on Your Way Out

Day 286

So Long, Farewell by Oscar Hammerstein II

There’s a sad sort of clanging
From the clock in the hall
And the bells in the steeple too,
And up in the nurs’ry an absurd little bird
Is popping out to say “coocoo”.

Regretfully they tell us,
But firmly they compel us
To say goodby to you.

So long, farewell, Auf wiedersehen, good night,
I hate to go and leave this pretty sight.
So long, farewell, Auf wiedersehen, adieu,
Adieu, adieu, to yieu and yieu and yieu.

So long, farewell, Au’voir, auf wiedersehen,
I’d like to stay and taste my first champagne
So long, farewell, Auf wiedersehen, goodbye,
I leave and heave a sigh and say goodbye,
Good bye

I’m glad to go,
I cannot tell a lie.
I flit, I float,
I fleetly flee, I fly.

The sun has gone to bed and so must I
So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, goodbye,
Goodbye,
Goodbye,
Goodbye!

•••

At long last, you are going away.  You ugly squares of carpet.  You teal and awfully woven textile.  You throwback to 1986.  For over 15 years, you have softened the noise of thousands and thousands of footsteps.  Your color is regrettable, but not your fault.  You have been reviled as your squares have separated and frayed.  And you have been replaced along with the oatmeal colored paint in many dark and dingy offices.

When your final squares slink out the big double doors, pray, do not let the door hit you on the way out.

8 thoughts on “Day 286 – And Don’t let the Door Hit You on Your Way Out

    • Those carpet squares look nowhere near this nice – honest! This was the more vibrant part of the piles of squares pulled – I believe they were under the stacks that were moved and never saw any foot traffic, nor fluorescent light. But I like the idea of being a wizard….

    • It looks so nice in the library. Well, at least the main patron areas – the offices and entry way are still old and gray/teal/burgundy as the installer got a staph infection in his knee (!) and had to stop for some recovery!

Leave a Reply

