Day 269 – Winter Berries


Winter Berries

Day 269

Nature rarer uses Yellow by Emily Dickinson

Nature rarer uses Yellow
Than another Hue.
Saves she all of that for Sunsets
Prodigal of Blue

Spending Scarlet, like a Woman
Yellow she affords
Only scantly and selectly
Like a Lover’s Words.

•••••

“What are ya?  Yellah?”
“Ya, yellah-bellied sap sucker!”
They call me Mellow Yellow.  Quite right.”
“Everything that is yellow is not gold.”
“Don’t eat yellow snow.”
“Silence is not always golden; sometimes it is yellow.”
“If it’s yellow let it mellow…if it’s brown flush it down!!”
If you are like me, yellow conjures feelings of warmth, of sunshine and of happiness.  Yellow is the dress I wore in 5th grade; pale yellow with chiffon accordion-pleated sleeves and every girl I knew wanted that dress.  Yellow is the tree in my mother’s yard that in the fall makes everything glow under the gray skies.  Yellow is the color of permanence and commitment in a band around my finger.  Yellow is tart and crisp in an apple pie and in a lemon meringue pie.  Yellow is the scent of a narcissus in the spring air.
Yellow is unappreciated, I think – it isn’t as flashy and bold as red, orange and purple, as calming as blue and green and it has the reputation of being cowardly.  But maybe we are all confusing yellow’s sensitivity with fear; yellow is unassuming and doesn’t mind letting the other colors hog the spotlight.  It will be right there, tucked away and at the ready, when we need a bit of warmth.
“There is no blue without yellow and without orange.”  ~ Vincent Van Gogh
20 thoughts on “Day 269 – Winter Berries

  1. They are like tiny little drops of sunlight! Love the photo!!!
    I had a dress once that was egg yolk yellow. I loved it and wore it at every given opportunity.
    Its as you said, yellow is happy. Its picnics and warm days. Its gentle breezes and cerulean skies. And strawberries and fields of marigolds.
    Thank you for my drop of happy today! 🙂

  2. While I’ve told you I simply can’t wear yellow without looking like a jaundice patient near death, I am fonder of yellow elsewise with every passing year. It is quite simply the color of joy, in my eyes. Daffodils. Yellow capiscums. Happy Faces, for heaven’s sake! School buses full of laughing grade-schoolers on their way to a big Field Trip. Lemons. And of course, the blaze of the yellow sun smiling out of a wide blue sky.

    • Those school buses full of laughing grade-schoolers likely have a driver who is frowning though! 😉
      You know, I can’t wear purple without looking like a jaundice patient near death! And I have this lovely purpley jacket that I insist on wearing! I don’t care – I am old enough to look near death whenever I want to!

Leave a Reply

