Day 263 – Game, Set, Match


Oh, yeah.... It is a matched set!

Day 263

A Match (an excerpt) by Algernon Charles Swinburne

If love were what the rose is,
And I were like the leaf,
Our lives would grow together
In sad or singing weather,
Blown fields or flowerful closes,
Green pasture or gray grief;
If love were what the rose is,
And I were like the leaf.
Ahhh…. February. Do you think about the groundhog, about presidents (in the US), or do your thoughts turn to hearts, cards and flowers? Or are you one of those people who swears off love in February eschewing it as a “Hallmark” holiday?
I have love on my mind at the moment. I think that has been obvious from my more recent posts. So we are going to discuss
L. O. V. E.
today. First off, I am going to address the question about “soul mates” – is there only one for me and one for you? Well, Biblically speaking, there isn’t any scripture to support that idea, so in my humble opinion, no. We are given parameters, some window samples and we get to make our choices. Whether we choose wisely, or not, it is our choice. But once we have made that choice? I think it becomes God’s choice.
So, what if there is no one out there that is viable? Well, 2 in 5 American adults are single, so you are not alone! And as a single person, you are still a COMPLETE person – no one else can do that for you. Some famous singletons? Jesus. Paul. All of the disciples except Peter. Elizabeth the First. Edward Koch. Janet Reno. Andrew Jackson. I am sure that you can think of a few on your own. What did these people all have in common other than being single? They all had a mission.
Not everyone has a mission that can be undertaken alone though. And this is where you have to look at yourself. Here is a powerful quote to think about:
“Am I the person the person I am looking for is looking for?” Just because you have a quiver in your liver for that awesome person you just met doesn’t mean that the quiver is reciprocated. The life you lead, the way you present yourself, the pajama pants you wore to Walmart just might not be what he/she is looking for; things in your past that are still affecting your “now” are going to keep affecting your future as well. Those single problems are going to come right along with you into your relationships. It is a myth to say that if you marry the right person, everything will be all right. So really, are you truly the person that the person you are looking for is looking for? It’s not only about finding that right person, it is about BEING the right person too.
Okay, you have found that person who was looking for you while you were looking for him or her! You have chemistry! Guess what? You are going to have chemistry with a lot of people! I hate to burst your bubble like this, but facts is facts. The good news is that you can just thank God for that beautiful flower you looked at, move on and head on home. Just because you have a bit of a flutter because the flower looks and smells good doesn’t mean that flower has character and let me tell you, character trumps chemistry every single time!
Finally, you have your very own loveable person, you have chemistry and you have character now. You are IN LOVE!!! I am going to end this on a note about how to treat that love and it is written on a card in my hand:
LOVE
  • is patient
  • is kind
  • does not envy
  • does not boast
  • is not proud
  • does not dishonor others
  • is not self seeking
  • is not easily angered
  • keeps no record of wrongs
  • does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth
  • always protects
  • always trusts
  • always hopes
  • always perseveres

I leave it to you to find out where that timeless instruction comes from. I am going to go snuggle up to the one I love.

17 thoughts on “Day 263 – Game, Set, Match

  1. Amen sister! πŸ™‚ And another to the fact that character trumps chemistry every single time. Don’t think we really “got” that when we were younger – well, I didn’t anyway. But I sure get it, and have “got” it now. And I think I’ll just go snuggle up to him. Thanks for a lovely post. Would love to leave you a little heart here but I don’t know how. so… xo

    • We were too full of ourselves to get then when we were young – I know people who are still too full of themselves to get it still!
      As for making that cute little β™₯ – just press the alt key then press the 3 on your side number keypad at the same time and release. Voila! You have a cute little heart! β™₯

  2. Snuggle away! Yes indeedy, it’s wholeness as a person that is the ultimate pheromone and learning to love others that makes us long-term ‘keepers’ ourselves. Kind of a tricky conundrum, but when it’s working, oh boy! xoxoxo

    • Oh boy, indeed! I was blessed with parents who taught me to value myself and as a result, for the many years I rambled about on my own, I was happy. And I am just as happy, but in a different way, with my hunka hunka hubby.

Leave a Reply

