Day 261 – Look What I Have


Look What I Have

Day 261

Not In A Silver Casket Cool With Pearls by Edna St. Vincent Millay

Not in a silver casket cool with pearls
Or rich with red corundum or with blue,
Locked, and the key withheld, as other girls
Have given their loves, I give my love to you;
Not in a lovers’-knot, not in a ring
Worked in such fashion, and the legend plain—
Semper fidelis, where a secret spring
Kennels a drop of mischief for the brain:
Love in the open hand, no thing but that,
Ungemmed, unhidden, wishing not to hurt,
As one should bring you cowslips in a hat
Swung from the hand, or apples in her skirt,
I bring you, calling out as children do:
“Look what I have!—And these are all for you.”
I thank you, my husband.  I thank you for loving me, even when I am in an ugly mood.  I thank you for going to work every single day, for enduring that 45 minute commute each way no matter how bad the weather is so you can provide for your family.  I thank you for guiding our children.  I thank you for taking Michael to the school this morning at 6:30.  I thank you for having dinner ready on so many evenings, for loading the dishwasher and for cleaning the litter box.  I thank you for your smile and for how you smell.  And I thank you for not hogging all of the covers.
I thank you, my husband.

 

10 thoughts on “Day 261 – Look What I Have

    • I hesitated to use this photo, but it was what I had for the day and I just didn’t want to take another. I am happy that I decided to go with it, because the poem went so well with the feeling that I have for my beautiful husband. ♥

  1. Beautifully said in photo, in poem, and especially in a dandy love letter. You know, of course, that *he* has something (-one) mighty special, too! That’s just how it works.
    Smooches,
    Kathryn

Leave a Reply

