Day 258 – It Depends on What You Choose


It Depends on What You Choose

Day 258

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
Choices. It is all about choices.  I have made one or two of those in my life:  Moving to this area with my parents as a young woman, taking a job at a department store, not pursuing a higher degree in favor of moving up the ladder in retail, living with a man who was unsuited to me, going to a bar with a friend on a cold winter night.  Had I not made those choices, where would I be now, I wonder?  Would I be living the life young Cyndi had hoped for in a large city pursuing the artistic dream?  Would I be jobless and homeless far from the family who loves me?  Would I be happy?  Would I even be alive?
One decision:  To move to a small town in 1990 brought me to this place – to a job that I love, to a relationship with God that I never dreamed possible, to two children whose love overwhelms me and a man who I hope to grow very old with.
I like to think I made the best choice in the world.
16 thoughts on “Day 258 – It Depends on What You Choose

  1. Life, yes, all about the choices…including all the ones we made before we understood we were choosing. You can’t have any doubt that (for the most part) the road(s) you chose were “right”…all one needs to do is look at your life, your bright and shining life. Another beautiful post Cyndi.

  2. I have made so many bad choices in my life,too….and just like you, I´m proud to say that the best choice that I have made is having a personal relationship with GoD! You & your blog are such a blessing!!!

    • The nice thing about those bad choices is that they are in the past where they belong and each day is an opportunity for a great choice! Thank you for this wonderful comment – you have given me such a huge smile!

  3. You have made a whole lot of good choices, as evidenced in your post today. I am so very glad that some of those choices put you *here*, now, and sharing your beautiful gifts with us so generously.

    You also made terrific choices in this post: the evergreen (no pun intended) Frost poem; your marvelous, thoughtful words; the cropping, POV, color treatment, and other processing choices that made such a wonderful and fitting image. ❤

    • I think coming back to blogging has been one of my better recent choices, Kathryn. I didn’t realize how much I had missed it. And I have been blessed to meet people like YOU, who uplift me with positivity each day. ♥

Leave a Reply

