Day 256 – Certain Things


Certain Things

Day 256

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

There is a place where the sidewalk ends
And before the street begins,
And there the grass grows soft and white,
And there the sun burns crimson bright,
And there the moon-bird rests from his flight
To cool in the peppermint wind.Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black
And the dark street winds and bends.
Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow
We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And watch where the chalk-white arrows go
To the place where the sidewalk ends.Yes we’ll walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And we’ll go where the chalk-white arrows go,
For the children, they mark, and the children, they know
The place where the sidewalk ends.

Sometimes we are put in a certain place at a certain time for something to happen.  Today, I had planned to shoot at a little park in Three Rivers, MI while my son worked out during his Hour of Power with some men from the church.  After driving 30 minutes to get to the gym, finding out the Super Bowl superseded and driving 30 minutes to get home,  I headed south into Indiana to a little watery spot.  Before long my car turned itself east and I found myself driving to Bonneyville to shoot the look-out tower.  After a bit of a hike off the beaten path, I passed by a group of people in conversation and climbed the steps to the top of the tower and with shaking hands (have I told you that I am scared of heights?) snapped 5 quick photos of the panorama before me.  As I was preparing to hike back to my car, an older gentleman who had been in the group walked with me as we talked about cameras, technology and the such.  He went on to tell me that he hadn’t spoken to his youngest daughter for three years and she wouldn’t return his calls, but that he had texted her this past week and simply told her, “I love you.  Dad”  She responded to tell him that she was working out the problems in her life and that she loves him as well.  To be in this certain place at this certain time because this man needed to tell someone about the love he has for his daughter is such a gift.
(By the way… My shaky hands did not make a nice photo from the top of the tower)
18 thoughts on “Day 256 – Certain Things

  1. Well, you *know* that I love Uncle Shelby and his Sidewalk poem deeply, so I thank you for that and the perfect accompanying bramble. Going up to a great height for the sake of your loving audience’s entertainment with pretty pictures is mighty brave and generous of you.

    But best of all, today, is the opportunity to hear angels singing as this stranger shared his moment of filial love. You were really, truly in the right place at the right time. Funny how we get put there somehow. Beautiful that you knew and took the opportunity for the wealth it was worth. Lovely, lovely. You were a bright light to that man today. 🙂

    • I am going to go back to that tower and get some photos that will be acceptable to post! I will just remember my tripod on that trip!
      I felt *honored* by the fact that this lovely man told me about his daughter, Kathryn. I felt as though he just needed someone to LISTEN to him. So I did!

  2. Kathryn said what I would like to say, only she probably said it better. 🙂 yes, dear-hearted Cyndi, you were in the right place, and so was he. Sometimes there is such miraculousness in meetings. This was one of those, and you were each blessed in it.

  3. This one is an absolute stunner!! Love the deep blue and the hints of red/pink around the thorns.
    What a gift you’ve given to the gentleman! By listening to him you probably doubled his joy.

Leave a Reply

