Day 252 – Old Friend


Old Friend

Day 252

Pencils by Carl Sandburg
Pencils
telling where the wind comes from
open a story.

Pencils
telling where the wind goes
end a story.

These eager pencils
come to a stop
.. only .. when the stars high over
come to a stop.

Out of cabalistic to-morrows
come cryptic babies calling life
a strong and a lovely thing.
I have seen neither these
nor the stars high over
come to a stop.
Neither these nor the sea horses
running with the clocks of the moon.
Nor even a shooting star
snatching a pencil of fire
writing a curve of gold and white.
Like you .. I counted the shooting stars of a winter
night and my head was dizzy with all
of them calling one by one:

Look for us again.

I ran into a couple of old friends tonight.  I haven’t seen them in years.  Oh, I ran into their cousin a couple of weeks ago, but I have kept my distance from these two.  We visited for close to an hour until I had to get the kids tucked in.  After that the moment was lost, long moment though it was. In the end, I am quite satisfied, because my old friends, a 3B pencil and a sheet of sketch paper, were still familiar to me.  I was able to give my Sam a bit of a lesson in drawing tonight as well, and oh!  Is she ever good for an old mom’s ego!
16 thoughts on “Day 252 – Old Friend

  1. Cyndi, I’m so happy reading this. The photo is great, especially in that it captures a moment in an interesting way. I’m thrilled you found the time and wil to visit with those old friends. Is Sam an artist, too?

    When I took my girls to an artist’s studio in the mall, they both were enthralled. Meaghan is my aspiring artist, but she has difficulty concentrating, so there isn’t a lot of attention to detail in her work… but oh the colors! She is magnificent with color. As we looked at the pieces on display, she often ooohed and ahhhed and said, “I wish I could do that,” to which I replied, “You can, with practice.”

    I’m slightly manic so I’m a little wordy right now, I apologize. I am always happy when an artist I know and love pursues her or his art. I hope my Meaghan holds onto her dreams, however “impractical” they may be. I didn’t & it’s harder to find the courage to return as an adult!

    Much love to you, Cyndi.

    • Samantha is far better than I was at her age, however her taste runs to anime and chibi at this point. She wants to learn how to draw faces though, so we have started on those lessons. I think I am going to get her the book Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain – it is a good starter book.

  2. Ooohh, I would love to see your drawings one of these days, if you don’t mind showing them off.
    Funny that you posted this, because I have one of mine coming up in the next few days 🙂

  3. You *know* I am elated to read this! What a special and dear gift to Sam, and to yourself too. And to us, all of us who know what a great thing it is to reconnect with those gifts we have lain aside for a time. So happy!

    • I am tickled that my Sam has such a deep interest in art – I am quite disgusted that she has yet to be scheduled for art class in school – it seems that they schedule students with no interest in those hour blocks! sigh.

Leave a Reply

