Day 251 – It Has Teeth


It Has Teeth

Day 251

Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind by William Shakespeare

Blow, blow, thou winter wind
Thou art not so unkind
As man’s ingratitude;
Thy tooth is not so keen,
Because thou art not seen,
Although thy breath be rude.Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly:
Most friendship if feigning, most loving mere folly:
Then heigh-ho, the holly!
This life is most jolly.Freeze, freeze thou bitter sky,
That does not bite so nigh
As benefits forgot:
Though thou the waters warp,
Thy sting is not so sharp
As a friend remembered not.
Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly:
Most friendship if feigning, most loving mere folly:
Then heigh-ho, the holly!
This life is most jolly.

I am going have to think about how jolly I actually am tonight…  Jolly.  If I were on Jolly Road in Lansing, MI, I would be right smack dab in the middle of jolly, but I am just off Liberty Road and a bit down from Sunnyfield.  What does that make me?  Cold.  What do I expect though?  What I do expect and dread are the constant questions, “Cold enough for ya?”  (No, I could stand a few degrees colder and pray, give me a windchill of -15F), “Didja order all this snow?” (Yes, I did.  And I have a secret and diabolical plan to gain world domination with my weather machine), “When you gonna thaw us out?” (As soon as I accomplish aforementioned world domination, of course), “If you hate the cold so much, why don’t you move down South?” (I’ll get right on that tomorrow, as soon as my throne is constructed in the small duchy that has been languishing without my fabulousness and I get that relocation package for my family and my mom),  and “Take it back where it came from, willya?” (As soon as I get my anti-gravitation machine up and running, I’ll send the snow right back up to those clouds!).  Ah, the joy of seasonal cliché….
20 thoughts on “Day 251 – It Has Teeth

  1. I truly have a love-hate relationship with winter. Snow and ice are so pretty. The negatives – the cold itself and the tired cliches… well I’m honestly not sure which is worse!!

    Lovely photo as always. I adore trees.

    • I have had a hate/hate relationship with it for many years – I had thought that this would be the year I would be happy for the cold, but the hot flashes disappeared along with the leaves…. It will be over soon though, and I will be enjoying warm breezes once again.

  2. I wish you would send some of that snow down here. Seriously. I am bummed we have not gotten much at akll. Lovely photo, by the way, though it needs to be seen larger. Most blog photos tend to give landscape oriented photos the shaft. Lovely still though. Great quote, too.

    • The snow has been a strange creature this year, Neil – it will come down from the sky so hard and we will have 8 inches or more then 2 days later it will be gone because the bitter cold will be elbowed out by high 30’s and low 40’s.
      I was disappointed with the photo in the size format I am stuck with, however when I clicked on it, I was happy once more because it so much better!

    • Our winter was gone again today, one day after this! All of that blowing snow is gone again in the 50 F temps we had today. Definitely weird weather for us… We should have snow a couple of feet deep right now!

    • That is a line of trees on the horizon, Pablo. And that line doesn’t go very deep – maybe a few hundred feet deep – it is all flat, flat farm land on the other side that will be full of soybean or corn plants in a few short months!

  3. You are very funny in your cliche rant. I love your responses and would love to be able to reply that way sometimes. I never would, of course, but I like to think of reposes like that.

    I like the picture and the smoky look of the horizon, as if the snow were blowing.

    • Oh, that snow was blowing like mad! In fact, I had to wipe my lens down as soon as I jumped back into my car!
      I would love to actually be able to reply with my parenthesis, but my mind is very active at those times. I don’t have it in me to vocalize them either, however I DID manage to tell one of my male library patrons last week that my name isn’t “Honey.” I was pretty proud of myself….

  4. You commentary made me laugh out loud or I guess “lol.” We don’t have near that sort of cold here, but we have it in heat and in scores. In fact, we have about 100 days a year of 100 degree heat, and it never fails that on each of those days, someone points out to me how hot it is in case I didn’t notice…and almost always…”hot enough for ya, yet?” While I’m not a fan of the cold, I am jealous of the landscape however! Beautifully captured! Love the misty stuff right in the distance.

    • You really don’t want this sort of cold! The wind that was blowing the snow in the distance into a froth was bitter and biting. Of course, that was 4 days ago – now it feels as though it is spring again, though we will likely be freezing our toes off again next week.

  5. Ah, yes, the “conversation” that consists only of weathered weather cliches truly does chill a “relationship”.

    I imagine some of those bitterly cold Michigan days make you think maybe it *would* be worth it to move to Jolly Road and see if it helps!

    Reading Shakespeare does help, at least. I think I might’ve told you about the great George Shearing settings of Shakespeare verse, and this is one of the texts in the set. Delightful.

    A breathtaking–literally *and* figuratively, given the temperature–photo. Really, truly beautiful.

    • You know, Kathryn, I really do not like this photo! It was the only photo available that day that was fresh from the camera, and I think it is awful! So I asked the spousal unit what he thought of the photo and he said, “I like it!” Art is so subjective!

Leave a Reply

