Day 249 – Too Distracted to Blog


Too Distracted to Blog

Day 249

Edward Lear

There Was an Old Man in a Tree
There was an Old Man in a tree,
Who was horribly bored by a bee.
When they said “Does it buzz?”
He replied “Yes, it does!
It’s a regular brute of a bee!”
•••
There Was an Old Man with a Beard
There was an Old Man with a beard,
Who said, “It is just as I feared! —
Two Owls and a Hen, four Larks and a Wren,
Have all built their nests in my beard.
•••
There Was an Old Man on the Border
There was an old man on the Border,
Who lived in the utmost disorder;
He danced with the cat, and made tea in his hat,
Which vexed all the folks on the Border.
•••
There Was an Old Lady Whose Folly
There was an Old Lady whose folly
Induced her to sit in a holly:
Whereupon by a thorn
Her dress being torn,
She quickly became melancholy.
Really not too sure why I chose these poems to go with the photo.  Well, I have an idea why I chose it – the checkers make me think of little old men in front of an old general store.  I have yet to see any little old men play with these checkers, the players are mostly children.
I really don’t have much to say tonight as my mind is full of thoughts for tomorrow’s post.  It is being  inspired by a walk through Year Struck’s post Too Busy to Blog and my own research into my family’s use of the word, “prolly” – I am completely distracted and distracted Cyndi does not want to write on today’s post.  I will bid you all a fond adieu and start writing tomorrow’s post.  God knows I am going to need a lot of time to write this one with every sentence that will be over thought, deleted, re-wrote and over thought some more.  I wish writing came as naturally to me as it does other people!
21 thoughts on “Day 249 – Too Distracted to Blog

  1. It probably (oops, Prolly) says a lot about me, not necessarily good things, that the first thing I glimpsed in the photo was candy cups (peanut butter or mint, either’s okay!). Then there was this great Edward Lear Mind Candy. Well, then I went back and saw that you were playing *games* with my mind. And I liked all of it very well. Behold, it was good! For supposedly not having anything cogent going on, you sure got *me* going!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

