Day 248 – Take Me to the River


Take me to the river

Day 248

Wash of Cold River by Hilda Doolittle

Wash of cold river
in a glacial land,
Ionian water,
chill, snow-ribbed sand,
drift of rare flowers,
clear, with delicate shell-
like leaf enclosing
frozen lily-leaf,
camellia texture,
colder than a rose;

wind-flower
that keeps the breath
of the north-wind —
these and none other;

intimate thoughts and kind
reach out to share
the treasure of my mind,
intimate hands and dear
drawn garden-ward and sea-ward
all the sheer rapture
that I would take
to mould a clear
and frigid statue;

rare, of pure texture,
beautiful space and line,
marble to grace
your inaccessible shrine.

This old bridge stands in Mottville, MI next to a newer ‘serviceable’ but ugly bridge.  This historic camelback bridge spans the St. Joseph River and the only traffic it is open to is foot traffic.  As I wandered over, around and under it today, I wondered about the people who have passed over it in its lifetime.  Built in 1922, I can imagine the wagon and horseless carriage traffic that passed over the span; perhaps people on their way home, to work, to shop or to head to Klinger Lake’s Bohemian Club to dance to the sweet sound of  the Bob Butler Orchestra.  Al Capone is even rumored to have spent time in the area at the speakeasies. 
So much time and so many people have passed and still this bridge stands with the endless flow of the river underneath.  And I am just a tiny part of the history of the bridge, just a moment in time.

Drop me in the water

Dip into the water

Push me in the water.... Carry me down

20 thoughts on “Day 248 – Take Me to the River

    • There is a little park in Scott, Indiana that I continue to visit over and over as well as a couple of other places off the beaten path. If you look, you can find something new every time!

  1. Needless to say, the soundtrack you provided makes it all that much cooler! Doolittle’s poem is striking, but the visual images utterly trump that in this case. I love that you gave us some distinctly different looks at the bridge, carrying us deep into that sense of storied past and historic present, of the multitude of movements and moods that have passed through its portals over the long years. It’s really a beauty, and you showcase it here wonderfully. So glad to ‘meet’ it!

    • I really struggled to pick one photo for this and eventually just gave up on that idea. I have been eying this bridge for some time, but every time that I actually had real time on my hands to do so, the weather has not been cooperative. I would have enjoyed a shot from far away on the other side but the serviceable bridge is right smack in the way!
      For an extremely flat and rural area, there is a lot of historical significance around these little burgs and I enjoy getting out to find it.

  2. I don’t think it is ugly.
    Probably is not like the new and fancy bridges that have such a great design, is different but there is something charming about it.
    The flare in the first picture is something to die for!!

    • The bridge that you can not see on the other side of this one is the terribly ugly bridge – I quite like this one and in an age when so much is condemned and torn down because repair and upkeep are so expensive, I am happy to see that they have kept this on and turned it into a nice historical site.
      And that flair? I was so happy with my friend, the sun, that day!

    • I was so happy with how the flare came out on this one, and while the other photos that I posted are very probably better than this one, the flare was the best part of them all.

Leave a Reply

