Day 243 – The Little One Nestled in my Heart


The Little One Nestled in my Heart

Day 243

For My Daughter by David Ignatow

When I die choose a star
and name it after me
that you may know
I have not abandoned
or forgotten you.
You were such a star to me,
following you through birth
and childhood, my hand
in your hand.

When I die
choose a star and name it
after me so that I may shine
down on you, until you join
me in darkness and silence
together.

She is 12 now.  The baby.  The youngest.  The last one that I will bear.  I am happy and I am sad.  She is funny, smart, loving, compassionate, beautiful.  She is growing up.  I can hardly bear the thought.  Each morning, Monday through Friday she is curled up next to me, warm and soft, breathing deeply, sometimes twitching in dreams.  Each morning I look into her sleepy eyes and am undone in my love for her.  Soon enough, too soon, her warmth and breath will be too old to wake up next to her mother.  But for now, she is still a little girl and I will wake up with her in the  morning, undone once more.

The Little One Nestled in my Heart - 12

20 thoughts on “Day 243 – The Little One Nestled in my Heart

    • And I really, really hated this cake – the color was the only pretty thing about it! It is quite possibly the ugliest cake I have ever made! But my daughter loved it because she is the one who picked those very bright and very lovely colors!

  1. For a Design graduate, you have a kind of mean streak in self-critique: how could you “hate” a cake so full of brilliance and cheer and grooviness?!!! Well, the rest of us can love it for you.

    This was tremendously sweet, and now I’m *not* talking about the cake, because I *didn’t* stick my fingers in it, I didn’t I didn’t I didn’t. Well, not much.

    A marvelous poem and an even lovelier meditation from a sweet mama. 🙂 Happy Birthday to your littlest.

Leave a Reply

