Day 237 – Cold Rest


Cold Rest

Day 237

Blue Winter by Robert Francis

Winter uses all the blues there are.
One shade of blue for water, one for ice,
Another blue for shadows over snow.
The clear or cloudy sky uses blue twice-
Both different blues. And hills row after row
Are colored blue according to how for.
You know the bluejay’s double-blur device
Shows best when there are no green leaves to show.
And Sirius is a winterbluegreen star.
I am supposin’ that winter really should be my favorite time with all of the blue that it hogs up from the rest of the year.  It is just too stinkin’ cold for me to feel any real affection for it though.  I had thought that this might be the year that the cold would be my friend since the Hot Flashes came to visit my house, but they cleared out of town at the first sign of snow and left me to suffer this by myself.  The capricious Hot Flashes will probably come back just in time to enjoy summer with me and then over-extend their visit.  Obviously no one has told them that company is like fish – it starts to stink after a week.  If you happen to run into one of the Flashes, let them know that my spare room is already reserved…  In the meantime, I have my extra blankets, my lovely heated seats and layers of clothing.  And with all of the extra layers, I am starting to resemble the Michelin man.

O, wind,
If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?
~Percy Bysshe Shelley

22 thoughts on “Day 237 – Cold Rest

  1. This is so pretty! 😀

    It’s sunny here, too. If I was more motivated, I’d go out and try to take a similar shot.

    But it’s cold.

    And I’m sitting by the woodstove. 😉

  2. Beautiful, very beautiful and the bokeh makes it very interesting.

    I agree, winter definitelly uses all the blue tonalities.

    What’s the temperature there? I would love to have snow now, but here is quite impossible 🙂

  3. I am afraid I can sympathize entirely. Cold is NOT our friend. When I’m layered up like a snowsuited kid who can’t put her arms down from a 45 degree angle–and I’m dressed like that for working *indoors*–I tend to feel just a teensy bit cranky about it. When I am suited up thusly and suddenly get a hot flash so I have to tear off all eighteen layers so fast I pull my own arms out of their sockets and can’t bend my spine at the waist for a week, a teensy bit crankier.

    Blue? That’s when *I* feel winter is in shades of blue: SAD blues, blue colored nose, lips and fingers, and especially all of the blue language spewed out of my blue lips over the aforementioned wardrobe-related episodes. But of course, none of this happens more than three times a day, oh no it doesn’t, so why should I be cranky about it at all? 😉

    • We had rain and 40’s today so quite a bit of that snow has melted off – I keep jumping when the ice and snow tumble off the roof – I have been surprised so many times now that I think I am getting a permanent twitch!

  4. I think that is just an exquisite shot of snow and sunny bokeh! I can hardly take my eyes from it. Wonderful how you managed to capture snow in an almost seductive, and very feminine way. (from the angle, it’s looking like you might have thrown your hot-flashing self straight into a drift!)

  5. That icy blue with the tiny crystals along the edges is perfect picture of winter. I love winter in pictures; in real life, not so much.

    Hot flashes are never there when you need them.

Leave a Reply

