Day 230 – Seriously Weird


Seriously Weird

Day 230

Weird-Bird by Shel Silverstein

Birds are flyin’ south for winter.
Here’s the Weird-Bird headin’ north,
Wings a-flappin’, beak a-chatterin’,
Cold head bobbin’ back ‘n’ forth.
He says, “It’s not that I like ice
Or freezin’ winds and snowy ground.
It’s just sometimes it’s kind of nice
To be the only bird in town.”
Well, how weird that I found some weird birds today, a weird poem, and had a weird message today at church.  Seriously “weird.”  In fact, it was titled “Weird.  Because Normal Isn’t Working.”  I am weird.  I like being weird.  It just means I don’t always go with the flow.  And that really can’t be a bad thing.
(On a side note, I am being stretched extremely thin with family, church, work, 365 and trying to keep up and comment on everyone’s fabulous posts.  I have to make a sacrifice and that sacrifice must be trying to comment on every post I read.  I plan to continue to keep an eye on new works posted, but I will just be “liking” the vast majority of posts to let you all know I have been over for a visit and that I indeed appreciate the hard work you are all doing. )
20 thoughts on “Day 230 – Seriously Weird

  1. OMG! These birdies are adorable!!
    My son and I adore Shel Silverstein! He is funny, funky, quirky and all that is good and fun. I am going to share this post with my son when he comes home from school. He is going to love it.
    Thank you!

  2. The birds are cute and the poem matches perfectly. I understand completely about the blogs. I have stopped reading new blogs because I can only handle just so many. Otherwise, “get to read” turns into “have to read.”

  3. You go, Girl! What a wise decision. It’s a great thing to know when to choose to do one or ten fewer things. That kind of smarts probably *does* prove you’re weird in a good way!! Thanks for the words of wiz-dom from Uncle Shelby, and the fun weird birds (got some outstanding patterns going in that shot)! See you when time allows. Hugs!
    Kath

    • I don’t know… I have been feeling like quite the weirdo for the past couple of days on and off! I am trying to get through everything I have been ignoring for the past few days and oh my goodness! I am deluged!

Leave a Reply

