Day 221 – I Have my Loyalties


I Have my Loyalties

Day 222

From a Buick 6 by Bob Dylan

I got this graveyard woman, you know she keeps my kid
But my soulful mama, you know she keeps me hid
She’s a junkyard angel and she always gives me bread
Well, if I go down dyin’ you know she bound to put a blanket on my bed.

Well, when the pipeline gets broken and I’m lost on the river bridge
I’m cracked up on the highway and on the water’s edge
She comes down the thruway ready to sew me up with thread
Well, if I go down dyin’ you know she bound to put a blanket on my bed.

Well, she don’t make me nervous, she don’t talk too much
She walks like Bo Diddley and she don’t need no crutch
She keeps this four-ten all loaded with lead
Well, if I go down dyin’ you know she bound to put a blanket on my bed.

Well, you know I need a steam shovel mama to keep away the dead
I need a dump truck baby to unload my head
She brings me everything and more, and just like I said
Well, if I go down dyin’ you know she bound to put a blanket on my bed.

I have a Buick.  In fact, I have owned 3 Buick’s.  Not those little Skylark Buicks.  No, I like the big kind.  The LeSabre, the Park Avenue.  They have that 3800 engine that goes and goes and room enough the kids aren’t touching.  The current Buick?  It has a console that divides the kids – and that is one of the two things that really sold the car to me.  Forget the heated leather seats, the heads up display and the On Star — my kids are separated and that is priceless on a long trip….

6 thoughts on “Day 221 – I Have my Loyalties

  1. Also, I’ve heard tell that the trunk on one of those babies is big enough that, well, if the console isn’t *quite* enough kid separator, I’m sure one of them would fit in for at least a shortish trip. 😉

    • You are very right, Kathryn! And I have made that very threat – there IS a pass thru door to the trunk so that there is fresh air!!!! I might even pass a bottle of water through. The only thing is, my daughter thought the whole idea was pretty cool, “I could take a nap back there!”
      I just can’t win!!!

Leave a Reply

