Day 216 – The Endless Loop.


The Endless Loop.

Day 216

Pretty Paper by Willie Nelson

Pretty paper, pretty ribbons of blue
Wrap your presents to your darling from you
Pretty pencils to write I love you
Pretty paper, pretty ribbons of blue
Crowded street, busy feet, hustle by him
Downtown shoppers, Christmas is nigh
There he sits all alone on the sidewalk
Hoping that you won’t pass him by
Should you stop? Better not, much too busy
You’re in a hurry, my how time does fly
In the distance the ringing of laughter
And in the midst of the laughter he cries
Pretty paper, pretty ribbons of blue
Wrap your presents to your darling from you
Pretty pencils to write I love you
Pretty paper, pretty ribbons of blue

 I knew, right after taking this photo, that these were the words that would go with it.  And they have been looping around in my mind in the days since I snapped that shutter.  I feel kind of fortunate with this particular loop because normally it is one of those “other” songs that careens around in my head; you know the ones – the ones you despise so much that you can’t even love to hate them.  For me, the song track is started with Cher’s “Believe,” followed by The Black Eyed Peas “My Humps.”  During a lot of the Christmas season it was concluded with “Happy Birthday, Jesus,” by the Saccharine Child Singers- I feel a strange guilt for really HATING that song, but it sets my teeth on edge and once heard, it is like a bad guest and it doesn’t go home for hours.

Yes, I think I am pretty well satisfied to have the sweet sound of Roy Orbison and of Willie Nelson on a loop in my mind.  It makes for a nice soundtrack for the day.  Which leads me to wonder what I would CHOOSE to use for a soundtrack for my day.  What song would play as the alarm clock blares at 6:30 am, as I start my car and back out of the driveway, as I sit at red lights and as I used my key fob to open the metal door that opens into the library.  What one would herald the entrance of ‘the boss’ and what would accompany the sound of books being checked in, as I walk in the door at the end of the work day, as I greet my hot husband, as I head off to bed for the night.

I do know what I would WANT as the soundtrack for my day; the ones looping through as I go through my day:

Beautiful Things – Gungor

Decollage – Les Balayeurs Du Desent

Ray of Light – Madonna

Down Home Girl – Old Crow Medicine Show

What a Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong

Last Orders – Richard Hawley

Anuna – Suantrai

Whisper – Morphine

I am afraid that Believe, My Humps and Happy Birthday, Jesus are probably too pushy to let that happen….  And now I wonder, what would you choose as your soundtrack for the day, be it one song, or an album full of songs?

2 thoughts on “Day 216 – The Endless Loop.

Leave a Reply

