Day 211 – Instead of Counting Sheep


Instead of Counting Sheep

Day 211

Counting Your Blessings Instead of Counting Sheep by Irving Berlin

When I’m worried and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep
And I fall asleep
Counting my blessings

When my bankroll is getting small
I think of when I had none at all
And I fall asleep
Counting my blessings

I think about a nursery and I picture curly heads
And one by one I count them as they slumber in their beds

If you’re worried and you can’t sleep
Just count your blessings instead of sheep
And you’ll fall asleep
Counting your blessings

It was a bad day the other day.  You know when you have accepted the burdens of the world for yourself to carry and you feel that weight physically as well as mentally?  That was my day.  I ended up spending the evening with my mother on our annual night out to see White Christmas and the song above is one of the tunes featured in the film.  And as I sat there in the darkened theater, listening to the words of this song and the vocal tones Bing and Rosemary were singing it with, I felt a portion of those burdens lifting.  I am a my father’s daughter at times – planning for the worst and then dwelling on when the worst is going to come and what the worst will be.  It doesn’t happen too often that I feel this way, but when I do…  sigh.  The sky may as well be falling.  Another sanity day spent in the sun yesterday, and my burdens have lifted.  Yes, they are still burdens, but I am not carrying them alone.

And tonight, I will count my blessings instead of counting sheep.

This is the grand piano being housed in the Riverview wing of my church while the stage and auditorium are moving into high frenzy with the Big Production only days away.

6 thoughts on “Day 211 – Instead of Counting Sheep

Leave a Reply

