Day 210 – Instead of Just a Wishin’


Instead of Just a Wishin'

Day 210 –

Fisherfolk by Robert William Service

I like to look at fishermen
And oftentimes I wish
One would be lucky now and then
And catch a little fish.
I watch them statuesquely stand,
And at the water look;
But if they pull their float to land
It’s just to bait a hook.I ponder the psychology
That roots them in their place;
And wonder at the calm I see
In every angler’s face.
There is such patience in their eyes,
Beside the river’s brink;
And waiting for a bite or rise
I do not think they think.

Or else they are just gentle men,
Who love–they know not why,
Green grace of trees or water when
It wimples to the sky . . .
Sweet simple souls! As in vain I watch
My heart to you is kind:
Most precious prize of all you catch,
–Just Peace of Mind.

This poem about peace of mind is quite apropos at this time of year when there is very little peace.  There is little peace in the stores and shopping malls as everyone races and rages and worries over that next item on the Christmas list.  There is little peace in finances as we all try to figure out just where the money for that iPod, that XBox, that Mario Kart is going to come from or if there is still room on the credit card.  There is little peace as we sit missing loved ones far away across the  miles or faraway and not in this world any longer, knowing that we won’t see them at a time that is geared toward expectations of family togetherness.  There is little peace when we have so little time to just sit and relax and breathe.
But.  There is peace when you sit back in one of those rare quiet moments to look at the ones who are near, consider the bills that are actually paid, enjoy the warm blanket or cat on your lap, to savor the surprise of a compliment given with no expectation of reciprocity.
I spent some time at Langley Dam today, wandering around in the sunshine with my camera in my hand and my boot heels sinking into the soft muddy ground, my thoughts, and not a soul around to disturb me.  And I found my peace.
4 thoughts on “Day 210 – Instead of Just a Wishin’

    • Thank you for the kind words, Miss Kathryn. As I sat at the movie last night with my mother and Bing Crosby started to sing the song, Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep, I felt the tears start to prick at my eyes as I considered everything I do have at this time of year instead of what I do not have. No, I do not have a lot of time on my hands, no I do not have a lot of extra cash (amend that to “no cash!”) and I do not have my father here to hug and kiss, but look at the abundance in my life! Wow!

Leave a Reply

