Day 198 – Contentment…


Contentment...

Day 198

Answered Prayers by Ella Wheeler Wilcox

I prayed for riches, and achieved success;
All that I touched turned into gold. Alas!
My cares were greater and my peace was less,
When that wish came to pass.I prayed for glory, and I heard my name
Sung by sweet children and by hoary men.
But ah! the hurts – the hurts that come with fame.
I was not happy then.I prayed for Love, and had my heart’s desire.
Through quivering heart and body, and through brain,
There swept the flame of its devouring fire,
And but the scars remain.

I prayed for a contented mind. At length
Great light upon my darkened spirit burst.
Great peace fell on me also, and great strength –
Oh, had that prayer been first!

My apologies in advance for not answering comments and visiting those whom I am following for the next few days.  I haven’t a spare moment at this point as I try to set up my stock photo accounts, give a great amount of time to the upcoming production at the church, work my my full time job which is CRAZY right now, give my family a few scraps of my time and at the back of my mind a health issue is looming.  I will likely be pulling a photo or two out of the vaults for the next few days, so please forgive me.
I am praying for contented mind….
4 thoughts on “Day 198 – Contentment…

  1. No need to apologize for having a real life! There are always going to be times when the schedule takes a swerve toward the surreal–just gotta go along for the ride. So I hope you can take those curves ahead with your usual style and grace and, most of all, with goodly helpings of calm and cheer and loving support. Sending you hugs across the miles!

Leave a Reply

