Day 192 – Where Are Those Electric Socks When I Need Them?


Soft Focus is an Understatement.

Day 192

Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind by William Shakespeare

Blow, blow, thou winter wind
Thou art not so unkind
As man’s ingratitude;
Thy tooth is not so keen,
Because thou art not seen,
Although thy breath be rude.Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly:
Most friendship if feigning, most loving mere folly:
Then heigh-ho, the holly!
This life is most jolly.Freeze, freeze thou bitter sky,
That does not bite so nigh
As benefits forgot:
Though thou the waters warp,
Thy sting is not so sharp
As a friend remembered not.
Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly:
Most friendship if feigning, most loving mere folly:
Then heigh-ho, the holly!
This life is most jolly.
It is a most wintery night here in lower Michigan – we are under winter storm warnings, the wind is blowing, the snow is falling madly and it is thundering and lightning outside.  The branches on the sugar maple in my front yard are thick with snow and look like white elephant trunks swaying back and forth in the wind.  I am sure that God is fielding a lot of prayers tonight, from drivers trying to make it home to the kids hoping to sleep in tomorrow.  Ahhhh….  The lights are dimming so I must bid you all adieu!

The view outside 2 hours ago.....

The view outside 3 hours ago...

14 thoughts on “Day 192 – Where Are Those Electric Socks When I Need Them?

    • All day long I anticipated taking these photos with the snow falling and making everything all wintery and pretty and fabulous and now I am sitting here waiting for it to end and thinking to myself that the branches are going to look great in the daylight!

  1. Stay safe and warm, darling! There’s so much twinkling going on in those photos it’s hard to imagine that it’s quite so cold and stormy, but I’ve lived in the midwest in my time and I know!

    The bit o’ Shakespeare here is one of Will’s texts that are set by George Shearing in a delightful group of choral arrangements that Richard’s conducted with one or two of his choirs, so it’s quite a favorite of mine. I also like that some of the transcriptions of the poem use that “friendship if feigning” because, as I’ve assumed, they mistake the lettering in that great antique calligraphy and typesetting of the S. I may have mistaken my S for something once or twice, too, but I shan’t mention it in polite company. 😉

    • The snow has finally (!) stopped and it looks as though they have finally restored the power to my neighbors across the street – I saw the transformer explode about 2 hours ago. It is a mess here – close to a foot of snow and trees and power lines down everywhere. And the snow is HEAVY! I went out to shovel the drive and it took me 2 hours to get 3/4’s of it done. It is a short drive! And was I ever nervous while under the big sugar maple – trees and branches were cracking all around and the loud crashes in the silence were very startling. And just 2 days ago we were enjoying sun and temps in the high 50’s…

      • Mother Nature sure is one volatile and violent dame sometimes!! Do be careful with the heavy lifting; I know that wet snow is always heavier than it looks, hence the high incidence of heart attacks among snow shovelers–and the possibility, as you say, of big laden tree limbs suddenly relocating on top of yards, cars, heads, etc.

        But if you can (1) stay safe and (2) keep warm enough, the snow is truly, tremendously pretty when it first arrives. And I know this woman who has a camera and a keen eye . . . !

      • I did little loads in that shovel of mine, but each one still weighed at least 15 – 20 lbs. I must have looked the fool; since I was so afraid of the tree overhead breaking off a murderous branch on my head, I would shovelshovelshovel as fast as I could, then run back to the garage for a breather. No one but the strange ones at the house across the street were out though, so none were the wiser.

    • My brother used electric socks when he played outdoor hockey. I haven’t seen a pair since then, but then I haven’t actually been looking for them. I sure could have used them last night as I shoveled what seemed to be a ton of wet snow.

  2. Gorgeous!… I would love to experience Christmas in the snow one year… Christmas Day in Brisbane is typically unbearably hot and humid…but I still make hot food for some reason…

    • After the heavy snow of 5 days ago, we are practically snow free again. It has been in the mid 40’s f and raining, raining, raining. The rivers are pretty swollen and the last I knew, they were calling for the rain to turn to snow over night. sigh.

Leave a Reply

