Day 182 – Stark, Stabbing, Barren. Winter Trees.


Stark, Stabbing, Barren. Winter Trees.

Day 182

Winter Trees by William Carlos Williams

All the complicated details
of the attiring and
the disattiring are completed!
A liquid moon
moves gently among
the long branches.
Thus having prepared their buds
against a sure winter
the wise trees
stand sleeping in the cold.
Scott is so small that it doesn’t have a stop light.  It doesn’t have a blinking light, unless you are counting the tail lights of Amish buggies as they slowly clip clop through in the night.  What Scott does have is a UM church, a tiny cemetery, a few farms and a county park with a nifty little covered bridge, a picnic shelter and some hiking trails.  I am not so sure I would dare to walk the trails at this time of the year with the crazy deer hunters out and about, shooting at anything that moves.  I was marginally more comfortable photographing the bridge though, since you can see it from the road (paved!) that passes through Scott.  I shot 8 frames of the bridge from varying angles and brutally pared them down, down, down until I got to three.  And then I couldn’t decide.  So, I am giving myself a camera vacation for the next two days and have decided that I simply must post the other two tomorrow and Monday.  I will not take my camera out with me, I will not take my camera out with me, I will not take my camera out with me.  That is my mantra and I’m sticking with it!
8 thoughts on “Day 182 – Stark, Stabbing, Barren. Winter Trees.

  1. It’s decidedly useful and needful to give yourself a break once in a while! I’ve been using a couple of my own stored up posts during the last couple of days since things got a bit over-busy while my spouse was in final rehearsals and had his concert with one of his choirs Thursday night. Tomorrow I’ll start rebuilding my stash of post drafts since I know there will be equally busy–or busier–times as the Christmas concerts come on!!

    Besides which: this shot of the bridge is so gorgeous and evocative I can’t wait to see the others anyway!!! Looks like a wonderful park (kind of reminds me of some not far from home when I was young and my family lived outside Chicago for a couple of years), but I’m glad you’re smart about evading overzealous hunters’ enthusiasms! Better wait for the real park wandering in safer seasons. 🙂

    • I am feeling decidedly guilty about playing camera hooky, but it will feel good leaving it behind for a couple of days. Of course, those will be the days that something ASTOUNDING will appear before my eyes.

Leave a Reply

