Day 105


Day 105 brought us a break in the heat.   Today I headed down a country road that takes me into Indiana and this spherical container that sits at the edge of a corn field.  No clue what it is for but I have been itching to photograph it.   On my way back, I spotted this irrigation sprinkler and liked the way it went over the hill with the clouds behind it.

We live in a fairly flat and very agricultural area.  While this area does not have rolling hills, mountains, waterfalls or spectacular scenery, I find so much beauty in what I do see surrounding me.  When I look at the cornfields, stalks growing high and tassling,  the soybean fields thick with deep green leaves, the potato fields with white flowers capping the leafy stems, I see our farmers feeding our country.  There is a beautiful symmetry in the lines of crops stretching out.  The farms are neat and clutter free, I suspect that it is the influence of the Amish community in the area – they are meticulous about the cleanliness of their farms.  The Amish farmhouses are white with beautiful vegetable gardens encircled with bright flowers.  The workhorses are huge and gorgeous;  in the spring, you are sure to see 4 to 6 of them hitched to a plow and an Amish gentleman driving them through the fields.   And the smell of the fresh dirt!    In the morning and late afternoon, the irrigation sprinklers are spraying the many fields.  When the sun is shining through them, they practically glow.   There is very little light pollution, so  a sky full of stars can easily awe you;  the meteor showers are spectacular.  This area is dotted with lakes; go a mile it seems and you can see a body of water.  No, we don’t have the ‘wow’ you see in so many places, but I have grown to love this area and love the beauty that pops up unexpectedly in the oddest places.

3 thoughts on “Day 105

Leave a Reply

